SportOther sports, Sport

Cameroon Cycling Tour painted Blue

The heavy downpour on the city of Yaounde on Sunday, June 12 did not dampen the occasion of the day…

The heavy downpour on the city of Yaounde on Sunday, June 12 did not dampen the occasion of the day as the population anxiously awaited the final arrival of cyclists during the 18 edition of the Cameroon International Cycling Tour.

The one-week race finally came to an end with Rwandan cyclist, Moise Mugishsa proving his worth to all his rivals by winning the 2022 Cameroon International Cycling Tour.

The cyclist who was three minutes, thirty seconds away from the then Yellow Jersey Jordan Andreev of Martigues Sports of France, last Staurday during lap seven between Boumyebel and Mbalmayo, created sensation and covered up for time lost before seizing the Yellow Jersey on the final day.

He was decorated with his yellow jersey in the closing ceremony presided over by the Minister of Sports and Physical Education and the General Manager of CAMTEL, Judith Yah Sunday Achidi.

The CAMTEL GM’s presence was a huge significance to the race as the telecomms giant was returning to the race after ten years.

To that effect, they put up a  blue jersey prize for the best Cameroonian cyclist who was rewarded at each stage.

At the end of the race, Clovis Kamzong Abossolo of the SNH Velo Club emerged as the best Cameroonian as he took home the blue jersey with sum of FCFA 500,000.

Camtel GM, Judith Yah Sunday Achidi the event ground visibly satisfied of her structure’s participation to promote sports in general and lift cycling in Cameroon.

The President of the Cameroon Cycling Federation, as well as Cameroonian cyclists  expressed satisfaction for the support shown by CAMTEL for the success of the race.

Overall  classification

Best Cameroonian of the lap (Black Jersey): Artuce Tella mBest

Overall Cameroonian (Blue Jersey): Clovis Kamzong

Best Young Cyclists (White Jersey): Paul Daumont (Burkina Faso)

Best Climber (White spotted red jersey): Ait El Abdia (Morocco)

First Cyclists on points (Green Jersey): Ait El Abdia (Morocco)

Yellow Jersey: Moise Mugisha (Rwanda)


Follow the live information on our channel