Afcon 2019: Choupo Moting strikes as Cameroon win on Seedorf’s home bow

Clarence Seedorf introduced himself to the Cameroonian public with a hard-earned one nil victory over Malawi on matchday 3 of…

Clarence Seedorf introduced himself to the Cameroonian public with a hard-earned one nil victory over Malawi on matchday 3 of the 2019 Afcon qualifiers played at the Ahmadou Ahidjo stadium on Friday.

A Choupo Moting goal at the 62′  minute gave Cameroon all three points against a resilient Malawi side who set up to frustrate the Indomitable Lions all afternoon.

Cameroon started the game on the front foot as the Lions camped into the Malawi camp with captain of the day Choupo Moting cutting onto his right foot before unleashing a shot that finished of the side netting just ten minutes in.

A minute later, Karl Toko Ekambi was put through on goal but lacked the composure in turning towards goal as his scuffed shot was gathered comfortably by the on-rushing Malawian goalkeeper Charles Swini.

Malawi had the chance to weather the storm and regroup after the first quarter of the game as the frustrated a Cameroon side who had more of the ball but were unable to penetrate their opponent’s backline.

Malawi put a similar resistance in the second half as they kept Cameroon abay but it took a stroke of an inspired substitution from Clarence Seedorf who brought in Ntep to inject pace and purpose in a lethargic Camroon frontline.

The Saint Etienne man had an immediate impact as he freed up Jacques Zoua who held up two Malawian defenders before laying off for Choupo Moting who canoned the ball past the Malawian goalkeeper to give Seedorf a win in his first home game.

Both sides now meet for the return leg in Malai on Tuesday s Cameroon bid to top the group.

Cameroon Starting XI: 1-Andre Onana-2-Jerome Onguene (12-Fai Collins 70′),4-Yaya Banana, 5-Michael Ngadeu-6Oyongo Bitolo, 8-Zambo Anguissa, 10-Kunde Malong, 13-Choupo Moting,7-Toko Ekambi, 11-Fabrice Olinga(18-Paul Georges Ntep 60′)-Jacques Zoua(15-Tagueu Joel 77′)

Substitutes:16- Fabrice Ondoua-12-Fai Collins-14 Georges Mandjeck-15-Tagueu Joel, 17-Boumal Petrus, 18-Paul Georges Ntep

Coach: Clarence Seedorf

Malawi Starting XI:16-Charles Swini, 05-John Lanjesi, 7-Chembezi Denis (14-Chiukepo Msowoya 75′), 4-Peter Cholopi, 2-Stanley Sanudi, 12-Precious Sambani, 6-Chikoti Chirwa, 17-John Banda, 15-Jabulani Linje( 09-Richard Mbulu 58′), 10-Yamkani Chester, 11-Gabadinho Mhango(13-Frank Banda 83′)

Substitutes: 1-Brighton Mutalhali, 3-Yamikani Fodya, 18-Gomezgani Chirwa, 8-Alfred Manyozo, 13-Frank Banda, 9-Richard Mbulu, 14-Chiukepo Msowoya

Coach Ron Van Geneugdene